Love in the Afternoon

I love you in the afternoon
When the sea forgets its waves
And the light persists without any grudge.
I love you in the afternoon
When the birds stop humming their ancient songs
And the landscapes sway in desolation.
I love you in the afternoon
When the mountains become vague
And the trees stop walking.
I love you in the afternoon
When the postman returns with undelivered letters
And the falcons collect their lost feathers.
I love you in the afternoon
When the lazy sky stoops over with torn clouds
and you walk thinking of me.
I love you in the afternoon
When the desert gleams with your smile
And my heart sinks in your blue blood.
I love you in the afternoon
When the death yawns in the yard
and I beg you
“never let me go”

2 thoughts on “Love in the Afternoon

  1. i too loved the afternoons when ur thoughts let me wander
    i too loved the afternoons when ur echos pester my sleep
    i too loved the afternoons when ur vexed harangues ceased

Leave a Reply

