I Like the Way

I like the way a pen
placed over a book or paper.
It means an engagement,
a promise to come back.
I like the way a lamp flickers,
an effort to linger on before
an imminent departure.
I like the way a fish sleeps
eyes opened, submerged in dreams.
I like the way an old man lays dead,
waiting for a boat from another river.
I like the way night pitches it’s tent
over the sea, cleaving the light.
I like the way a tree leans against a pale sky
hearing it’s liquid ringing.
I like the way she looks back and smiles
suddenly thousand red caterpillars surround my heart.

4 thoughts on “I Like the Way

Leave a Reply

